THE OLD QUARTER
Sant Bartomeu Church and Bell tower
Construction of the church, which is dedicated to the town’s patron saint, Saint Bartholomew, as well as Saint Abdon and Saint Senen, began on 25 May 1724 and finished on 9 October 1743. This newer building replaced the old church which apart from being mentioned in the town charter back in 1236, very little is known.
Building of the new temple in the 18th century meant that the old one was pulled down leaving only part of the walls remaining. The architecture is typical of the late baroque period, with its octagonal bell tower separate from the church. Apart from the front and certain pictorial elements, this is a very simple building in the same architectural style as one of the greatest Valencian Community traditions.
The worked stone façade is like a frame around the monumental baroque portal, which is in two parts and flanked by slim isolated Salomonic columns. The artistic portal is enriched with abundant, carefully carved baroque ornamentation.
The belfry is on the right of the church. It is an isolated octagonal building, made up of large blocks of stone carved between 1724 and 1743, by master builder Vicent Carbó. It stands at approximately 38 metres in height. It also has four very solid sections; the fourth has a stylized semi-circular window on each side, where the 8 bells are housed. The bells weigh between 107kg and 1001kg, more than a ton! The last one has been named The Big One. You will also see there’s a clock in use.
The interior of the temple has a single nave with transept and chapels. Various arches provide access to these chapels and are rather like side naves.
Lastly, is he wonderful altarpiece of the Virgin of Remedios, a painting with the Virgin Mary and Jesus sitting on a throne and surrounded by different saints. This work of art is accredited to the artist Vicent Macip from Juan de Juanes School.