The Old Market Square – “Mercat Vell”
Just to the right, and in front of Bosch House is The Old Market Square. Most of the present day square was built on an area which was in fact the Old Market during most of the nineteenth century. It was an enclosed area but without a roof, and paved with clay tiles where children played ball etc., which is where its name ‘trinquete de Benicarló (‘trinquete’ is a popular Valencian ball game) came from
The owners decided to abandon the area in 1808, and from this date on different town authorities, which considered ball games an ‘essential, honest pass time’, invested the money collected from renting it out privately into repairing and maintaining it.
In 1855 the local authority decided to use the square for a market. And finally, in 1924, the Town Hall opted to build a roof for it, which comprised of a gable roof, supported by two columns giving it a special appearance.
This market was in use for half a century until 9th June 1961, when the Town Hall agreed to take down the shed-like building as a new one had been built in Pío XII Street.